Oncoming Traffic

2 Corinthians 10:4-5

“For the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh but have divine power to destroy strongholds. We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ.” ESV

Thoughts can destroy, so they must be properly managed. The greatest things on earth started with a thought, and also some of the most destructive chapters of our history started with a thought. Thoughts can either be nurtured or put to death, and I believe the divine mark of our humanity lies in the ability to make this decision.
I received applicable advice from a mentor who taught me to look at my thoughts like traffic. He asked me, “Would you ever pull your car out into oncoming traffic with your family?”
“Well, no!”
Then he asked, “Have you ever thought about pulling into oncoming traffic?”
“Yeah, I guess I have, kind of like a little daydream nightmare because I saw a person pull their car into oncoming traffic, and saw the aftermath.” I replied.
“Did you do it? Did you act on the thought?”
“Are you crazy?” I replied.
“That’s what your thoughts are like brother. Do you think every thought you have comes from you or God?”
“No, I believe many come from the flesh.”
“As long as you think it’s just a fleshly battle, you’ll never win. You must see and acknowledge that you’re in a spiritual battle, and many thoughts in the traffic of your mind come straight from the Devil to destroy you. Just like pulling your car into oncoming traffic, is like letting every thought go through your mind and into your heart. You must take thoughts captive, bring them to Christ, and then either nurture them, or put them to death.”
I view thoughts like traffic. If they’re from Christ, I make the turn, if from Satan, with God’s help, I steer clear.

By Aaron F. Jeffers

Leave a Reply

